[25] another change/last book of pride Month

Although I was planning on reading/reviewing All of Us with Wings as I recently found out things about it, that you can read more in detail and discussed by the amazing and wonderful Gabi and Adriana.
So in light of all of this I decided I wasn’t going to risk having to write a review full of tw instead of one celebrating bi representation. I will probably read that book sometime and post a review with all the proper tw and other warnings but not now.

That’s why I thought why not review a book I love, a book that I’ve already read but I haven’t gotten the chance to write about it anywhere.

[I do also have to apologise for the lateness of this last Pride Month review, I hoped I could post this on the last day of June instead of today but somehow time keeps playing games with me lately.]

Anyways without further ado:

Labyrinth Lost

by Zoraida Cordova

I was chosen by the Deos. Even gods make mistakes.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo she can’t trust, but who may be Alex’s only chance at saving her family.

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Minimum spoilers

Whenever I’ve tried to find a way to describe this book I always get stuck on wanting to describe everything about it, that I end up spoiling it. So this review is almost a challenge to me, to still share my thoughts and feelings but without giving too much away.
This was one of the first books I read that were so unapologetically latinx that I loved from the first few words. Labyrinth Lost is a book about acceptance, about embracing your culture, your family, your roots even when there are things you might find scary or misunderstand at first. Alex suffers from that, she wants to give up her magic something that, to her, makes her stand out and be different and that makes her family so different. She plans on rejecting her legacy, her bruja status on her Deathday but this backfires, she finds herself having to trust this guy she only met once or twice, Nova and face her fears and prejudices about being a Bruja in order to not only save her family but also everyone present on her Deathday ceremony. Labyrinth Lost apart from being unapologetically latinx is also unapologetically bisexual which you can enjoy in the way she both describes her bestfriend, Rishi who indo-guyanese and the boricuan boy she’s stuck with on an adventure, Nova. This book not only celebrates identity, bisexuality, references latinx and other cultures but also feelings of diaspora and immigrants struggling to fit in. Overall, I can’t stop recommending this book to everyone, it captures latinx culture without being a cliche but also it introduces magic and adventure in marvellous and unique ways.
Should I also mention that the little spanish words interspersed here and there made feel so at home.

Pride Month is over but that doesn’t mean I’ll stop posting reviews of lgbt+ books, i always want to expand my reading horizons, so if you have any recommendations I’m always happy to hear.
I do have to say there’s a few books I read this month I haven’t had the chance to post about yet.
This is my full pride month reading:

I will post the schedule of the reviews I’m missing and my TBR for the Month of July tomorrow 🙂


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.