[2]: The Vanishing Girl

by Laura Thalassa

6 Reasons to read this book:

*secret missions
*new adult sci-fi
*government conspiracy plot
*superpowers/teleportation powers, genetic manipulation
*insta-love/fated pairs
*adventure with a lot of romance in it


Rating: 🌟🌟🌟

Every night after Ember Pierce falls asleep, she disappears. She can teleport anywhere in the world—London, Paris, her crush’s bedroom—wherever her dreams lead her. Ten minutes is all she gets, and once time’s up, she returns to her bed. It’s a secret she’s successfully kept for the last five years. But now someone knows.

I have to first admit I loved Pestilence so I thought Laura Thalassa’s would be as good as that. Now, that said, as soon as I read the summary it intrigued me, reminded me of that film with Hayden Christensen (Ilovehim) that I really can’t remember very well apart from that he jumped to places and things happened? Either way, I was interested , I was intrigued. But unfortunately I finished this book and I felt like there were too many issues with it for me to geniunely like it. The spacing, the characters and the insta-love were some of the main issues I had. Ember wasn’t what I expected as a main character she was likeable enough at times but other times it felt too much like the ~super special super original~ MC you’re supposed to like. I was mostly intrigued on wanting to know more about the superpowers and about this new corporation/military facility she’s now stuck in. The book of course leaves you with a cliffhanger because there’s two more (I think?) to come and I’m honestly still debating whether to continue or to leave it there.

More spoiler-y review under this read more 🙂

Ember really wasn’t what I expected from a main character, she was fine, alright, a bit boring at times but also felt too much like that typical “I’m so different/special” main character from those directed-at-teens films which I guess it’s fair since she is supposed to be a teenager herself but then other things were inconsistent with her being a teenager. The sexual situations for one.

Now most of my issues with this book weren’t with the conspiracy government plot nor with the teletransportation. I do wish we had less of a fast paced plot, more exploring those powers and exactly how it worked. My first issue was the insta-love and the possible love triangle? as apart from Caden we’re also introduced to this very mysterious and intriguing Aiden character. Ember is supposed to be slow to trust but after a bit she was already thinking she could love Caden and I’m not sure how believeable that was. Now because of the insta-love I have to admit I kept waiting for the shoe to drop with Caden, I guess I’ve read too many books where the seemingly good guy turns out to be one of the bad ones but it didn’t happen so far? the book ended pretty much in tragedy towards Caden. I didn’t get to like him or get to know him apart from the moments where he saw her naked, groped her, etc etc.
Also having one of the few female characters Ember interacts with (Desiree) being characterised as the jealous mean girl is not really my thing. Yes I know not every female character has to be super bffs supportive with another female character but also…why not?

Also, the country is COLOMBIA not Columbia.


Have you read this book? What did you think?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.